FFA Cup Report

APIA Leichhardt v St George
FFA Cup Round Six
May 16 2018
St George may have been eliminated after going down 2-3 against APIA Leichhardt in the sixth round of the FFA Cup but they pushed the highflying NPL1 team all the way at Lambert Park on Wednesday night, only succumbing to a late injury time goal.
It would be fair to say that there was little between the two sides on the night, the game an open one with chances falling to both sides. APIA commenced the scoring on the half hour when George Howard connected to a deep cross from the left by Marc Warren, heading home to put the Tigers side a goal up.
But the Saints reacted quickly with Jordan Morfitis just striking wide seven minutes later, before he took his next chance just sixty seconds after that, his shot deflecting past Ivan Necevski, for 1-1.
The goal lifted St George while seeming to deflate APIA at the same time, and the remainder of the half saw the Saints more than match their opponents.
Even stevens then at the break but within five minutes of the restart, APIA took the lead for the second time, again through George Howard, scrambling away after a corner. APIA looked a stronger force after the break, but nifty work from Aleksander Lekoski, a one touch and turn, drew the Saints level once more, his long range effort beating the diving Necevski, who did manage a touch.
The Saints smashed a header against the bar with about five minutes remaining, and had that chance gone in an upset would have been on the cards, but just when extra time was looming, a close range header from Zac McKenzie was to cruel St George’s hopes.
This was an exciting, attacking game with the lower ranked St George looking more than capable of holding their own against their higher rated opponents.
APIA Leichhardt 3 (George Howard 30’, 50’, Zac McKenzie 90 +1’) v St George 2 (Jordan Morfitis 38’, Aleksander Lekoski 68’)
Apia Leichhardt  Starting X1: 1. Ivan Necevski 2. Nathan Millgate 4. Josh Symons 6. Zac McKenzie 9. George Howard  11. Jordan Murray 12. Marc Warren 15. Themba Muata-Marlow 18. Adrian Ucchino 19. Brandon Lundy 20. Tasuku Sekiya.
Subs: 5. Stephan Addattini 8. Corey Bizco 10. Franco Parisi 21. Tariq Maia 22. Blake Tuxford
St George: 21. Anthony Costa 2. Daniel Loe 3. Ali Nasreddine 4. Hussein Akil 5. Jacob Bandur 8. Tarik Ercan 12. Anthony Morabito 15. Christopher Arditti 16. Jordan Morfitis 17. Aleksander Lekoski (10. Nicholas Paras 76’) 23. Lenox Tweneboa  
Subs not used: 1. Sota Kimura 18. David Ilic 22. Alexander Kyriacou