2011 Silver Medal

posted by Artie on Oct. 10, 2011

Our very own Daniel Nash and Lachlan O'Conner took out awards read below

The 2011 Silver Medal Dinner was held at the Mounties Sports Club on Friday evening in what was a lavish affair for the NSW Super League, State League Division One and State League Division Two.

Granville Rage’s red hot striker Kris Holbrook (30 points) took out the major gong ousting Central Coast FC’s Jamie Lobb (28 points) and West Sydney Berries (26 points) young midfielder Stefan De Jesus.

Holbrook was delighted with his achievement but was quick to heap praise on his team mates.

“I didn’t think I had the best season.

“But I obviously wouldn’t be standing here if it wasn’t for the boys.

“Thanks to my team mates, it’s been a good season considering the injuries, suspensions and players leaving half way through the year.

“All of my goals were pretty much tap ins so I’d like to thank the boys for putting it on a platter for me, thanks boys!”

Moving on to the other awards within the NSW Super league category, Premiers and Champions Blacktown Spartans dominated proceedings.

Coach Ben de Haan was acknowledged for his fantastic year at the helm of the Spartans with the 2011 NSW Super League Coach of the Year.

The 15 year veteran was quick to acknowledge the teams efforts in what was a close NSW Super League competition.

“The boys turned up every week ready to play, win, lose or draw the week before.

“Even with the difficult end of the season when there were six to seven teams in the mix, it was an unbelievable effort.”

The 2011 NSW Super League Goalkeeper of the Year was nominated by the clubs and this year there were joint winners, Daniel Nash from St George FC and Blacktown Spartans shot stopper Carlos Saliadarre. Whilst the 2011 Golden Boot for the NSW Super League was won by West Sydney Berries forward Dimitri Zakilas with 14 goals – one ahead of Silver Medal winner Kris Holbrook. The NSW Super League Grade 20 player of the year was won by Lachlan O’Conner from St. George FC after some outstanding performances in 2011. The youngster has been earmarked as one to watch out for in 2012.

In State League Division One, Mt. Druitt Town Rangers forward Hosyar Cakal stole the show winning both the Golden Boot (19 goals) and the Player of the Year. Cakal dedicated the win to the team and was quick to point out to the crowd in attendance it was 19 goals in 19 game.Grade 20 NSW Super League Player of the Year was also won by a Ranger, this time James Mawien was acknowledged for an excellent season.

The coaching partnership of Aidan Desmond and Glenn Lockhart from Mounties Wanderers was acknowledged with the Coach(es) of the Year Award. Former Bonnyrigg White Eagles keeper Ali Akbal was awarded Goalkeeper of the year for a string of excellent performances between the sticks for Mounties Wanderers.

In State League Division Two, Northbridge FC won three of the four major awards on offer. Northbridge FC’s Ry Hardy was awarded the Player of the Season after a great season with the Premiers. Former Sutherland Shark now Hakoah FC midfielder Neil Jablonski took out the Golden Boot award – banging in 26 goals throughout 2011 from midfield. Northbridge FC shot-stopper Craig Whitehouse was awarded Goalkeeper of the Year, whilst Coach Joe Hayward was awarded Coach of the Year after an excellent season which saw the club promoted to State League Division One.

In the nights other major awards, Referee of the Year, as deemed by the referee’s assessors each week, was taken out by Adam Susz while the Media Award was awarded to Fairfax’s’ Blacktown Sun Newspaper after excellent coverage in 2011 of the Blacktown Spartans excellent season.

The nights final major award, the Charles Valentine Medal – a medal presented annually in recognition of an outstanding contribution which merits the highest possible acknowledgement by Football – was awarded to David Bertenshaw of Hawkesbury City FC.

David John Bertenshaw, born 1950, played his junior career in the dominant Granville Representative teams. He progressed to first grade at 17, playing in the highest level of the time. An early highlight was playing a warm up match against the 1974 world cup squad.

After a distinguished playing career, he focused on coaching and in particular youth and coach development. He performed many director of coaching roles and became a Vice President of the NSW Coaches Federation.

In 1989 he shifted his focus to the development of soccer in the Hawkesbury District. He has been the driving force for the development of the Bensens Lane Soccer Facility. His passion, dedication and organisational skills have seen the complex develop into a first class football facility that is capable of hosting finals matches at all levels.

His passion for helping sports is witnessed by his donation of countless hours to the Hawkesbury club and the Hawkesbury City Sports Council, over which he presides.

It is clear that football and all sports have benefited from his dedication to the Hawkesbury area, and they are extremely lucky to have him!

David accepted the award and stated he was completely humbled by the recognition. Asked what was the dream? David answered:

“For kids to play on the best possible facilities and to have these facilities readily available.

“It’s important for kids to play for Australia to show them a pathway in which they can do so.”

Asked what was his passion? David stated:

“Football is the passion, but I don’t mind what sport kids are really playing as long as kids are playing sport that’s the main thing and the main drive.”

Asked on the impending arrival of AFL in Greater Western Sydney, David was quite level headed.

“We have nothing to fear, we should be trying to advance the sport (football) as best we can.

“If all sports, NRL, AFL, Rugby and Football all grow, what’s the problem?”

David Bertenshaw, a truly deserving winner of the 2011 Charles Valentine Medal.


home | info | news | teams | gallery | sponsors | contact
copyright © 2015 st george saints football club
Design and Development by Web Sessions